Watter

Watter Al Bahry, a guide, writer and professional photographer joined us in Wadi Dome from a safari along the Red Sea Coast. We talked and later he informed me that he writes articles for National Geographic in Egypt; we don’t even have a Kenyan National Geographic…for youth!! So later on he showed me one of his articles in the Egypt National Geographic Magazine for Youth. I marvel at it even though I can’t read a word-it’s in Arabic!! For a moment I considered studying Arabic as my next foreign language, this reminded me, I just read a quote in a little book and it read, “Life is too short to study German!” Well, I guess the Arabic will wait.

Watter speaks Arabic and English with Mary Lyn, our co-host and she tells him that he has speech impairment. He doesn’t understand what this means, so she simply explains that he mixes his T’s, S’s and H’s…and uses them altogether…he scratches his head and says, “I guess I need new software!” Well, it’s useful to have an Egyptian with a sense of humour!! He turns out to be my photography teacher during my stay and travel along the Red Sea.

Below is Watter in his element (s).

He loves birds

And photographs them

He has time for cats-even stray ones

And I wouldn’t pass a chance to pose with him 😉

4 thoughts on “Watter

  1. It is excellent to read some positive news from Egypty and I like the idea of a Kenyan Geograhic, such magazines rely on advertising for their funding…

    Like

Leave a comment